UK’s Jonny Walker takes coveted Red Bull Hare Scramble at the Erzbergrodeo.. Ryan Dungey makes it two in a row at Highpoint Race Way. And Grand Prix victory and podium for Jeffrey Herlings and Tony Cairoli in Agueda at the MX World Championship. European Junior Cup victory for Austria’s Lucas Wimmer in Misano…

Jonny Walker on top at Red Bull Hare Scramble 2012

KTM’s UK factory rider Jonny Walker delivered a sensational ride up Austria’s Iron Mountain on Sunday to seal victory in the notorious Red Bull Hare Scramble on Sunday in what is considered the world’s toughest one-day Hard Enduro competition. It was only the 21-year-old rider’s second start in the classic endurance event.

Jonny Walker (GBR) - Action

In the absence of five-times winner, KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak who won in the EnduroCross World Championship second round in the USA this weekend, Walker’s victory also signaled the passing of the mantel to the next generation of great KTM riders. Walker not only won the mighty race, he did it in style and with an impressive winning margin of around 20 minutes from
second placed Dougie Lampkin (Gas-Gas).

500 starters – 6 of the 7 finishers rode a KTM Enduro

The race lived up to its international reputation for delivering not only stunning racing from the world’s toughest riders but also an element of drama. Graham Jarvis (GB) and Andreas Lettenbichler (D) had been disqualified for missing an entire terrace in the high-speed section “Rosina”. Neither rider saw the announcement and continued on racing. And of the 500 starters
only seven were listed as official finishers when fog caused the race to be halted after three and a half hours instead of the usual four-hour limit. Anyway six of the seven official finishers were on offroad bikes by the Austrian manufacturer KTM!

Jonny Walker: “I knew that Jarvis had been disqualified and in the final part I didn’t take any risks. I was simply too fast at Carl’s Diner and I hurt my back a bit when I went over the handlebars. It’s simply fantastic to be the winner in only my second start here in Erzberg.”

Alex Doringer (KTM Team Manager): “It’s just great for us that such a nice young guy like Jonny Walker has won here. We really knew he had improved since last year. We already knew that before the race and that’s why we were counting on him. What we didn’t know is just how much he had improved and that surprised everyone. Last year’s fifth win by Taddy Blazusiak was
already sensational. Now we have another great winner!”

Results Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble 2012
1. Jonny Walker (GB), KTM, 1:42 h
2. Dougie Lampkin (GB), Gas-Gas, 2:11 h
3. Ben Hemingway (GB), KTM, 2:18 h
4. Paul Bolton (GB), KTM, 2:30 h
5. Taichi Tanaka (J), KTM, 3:00 h
6. Lars Enöckl (A), KTM, 3:06 h
7. Dan Hemingway (GB), KTM, 3:17 h

Ryan Dungey (USA) won both motos on the KTM 450 SX-F at Rd. 4 of the US Pro Motocross Championship

Ryan Dungey makes it two in a row
Red Bull/KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey takes his second consecutive 450 Motocross class overall win at the fourth round of the US Pro Motocross Championship Series at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris Pennsylvania and now leads the championship by 42 points.

Factory teammates Ken Roczen of Germany and French rider Marvin Musquin also had a strong day out with Roczen on the podium in third and Musquin in overall fifth in the 250 class.

Results 450 Motocross Class High Point Raceway
1. Ryan Dungey (USA), KTM – 1-1
2. Mike Alessi (USA), Suzuki – 2-2
3. Jacob Weimer (USA), Kawasaki – 3-3
4. Andrew Short (USA), Honda – 4-8
5. David Millsaps (USA), Yamaha – 9-4

Standings 450 Motocross Class after 4 of 12 rounds
1. Dungey, 186 points
2. Alessi, 144
3. Weimer, 141
4. Short, 128
5. James Stewart (USA), Yamaha, 116

Jeffrey Herlings (NL) overall winner with the KTM 250 SX-F at the MX2 Grand Prix of Portugal at Agueda

GP victory of Herlings, podium third for Cairoli in Agueda Red Bull KTM factory riders put in a good weekend of racing at the Agueda circuit in Portugal with Jeffrey Herlings taking the MX2 Grand Prix victory and Tony Cairoli securing a podium third in MX1. Both riders retained their red plates as championship leaders.

Austrian Lukas Wimmer took the win at Round 3 of the KTM EJC with his #58 KTM 690 Duke at Misano (I)

KTM EJC victory for Lucas Wimmer in Misano
Austria’s Lucas Wimmer converted his Pole Position into a first victory in the KTM European Junior Cup after dominating round 3 in Misano, San Marino.

The Austrian teenager was in blistering form the entire weekend and immediately shot his KTM 690 Duke out of the grid to claim the holeshot. He quickly built up a commanding lead to win from a battling Christian Vidal of Spain and Australian Guiseppe Scarcella.

Results KTM EJC Misano
1. Lukas Wimmer (A), 17:02.314 min
2. Christian Vidal (E), +7,799 sec
3. Giuseppe Scarcella (AUS), +7.868
4. Javier Orellana (E), +13.121
5. Jean François Demoulin (F), +13.184

Standings KTM EJC after 3 of 8 rounds
1. Vidal, 26 points
2. Wimmer, 25
3. Adrian Pasek (PL), 25
4. Demoulin, 24
5. Orellana, 21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s